The Deputy Mayor of the Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality is Clr. Connie Rampai. She matriculated with exemption and obtained a Primary Teachers’ Certificate in 1981. Thereafter she pursued her studies and obtained the National Diploma in Public Administration in 1999 and the B.Tech degree in Public Management and Administration in 2000 from the Central University of Technology. She is currently pursuing her further studies through the Wits Business School.

In addition, Clr. Rampai has attended various courses, including Skills Development Facilitator (Institute of People Development), Municipal Finance Structures (2004), Train the trainer ECTP level 4 (Maccauvlei 2003), Budget in the Public Sector 2003 (Proactive), Electronic Communications & Transaction Act (Marcus Evans 2001), Job Evaluation Analyses (South African Management Institute 2002:  Qualified Job Analyst), Performance and Development Management System (South African Management Institute, 2000), Creating Winners in the Workplace (Dr Arnold Mol, 2000) and Training Programme for the Public Service Regulations (DPSA, 1998).

The Speaker has extensive knowledge of the local government environment. She served as the Municipal Manager of the Mantsopa Local Municipality from 2006 to 2010 and prior to that as the Municipal Manager of the Xhariep District during the period 2005 to 2006. Clr. Ramnpai started her early career at the Provincial Treasury and served as a Principal Personnel Officer (1996 to 2000), Training Advisor / Skills Facilitator (2002) and as Acting Manager responsible for procurement, provisioning, IT and training (September 2002 to December 2003).

Clr. Rampai also served as the Speaker of the Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality following the 2011 local government elections.

She has served in various leadership positions, including;

  • Deputy Chairperson  of National Hospital Board (2011)
  • Deputy Secretary  of Regional Executive Committee (ANC Motheo) (2008)
  • Member of the Project Management Institution of South Africa (PMISA) (2004)
  • Member of Regional Working Committee (ANC Motheo) (2004)
  • Member of the Collaborative Public Management and Development (2004)
  • Member of the Provincial Skills Development Forum (2002)
  • Member of Region ANC Motheo  (2002)
  • Chairperson of Peter Julies Branch  Executive Committee (ANC) (2000)
  • Chairperson of Maboloka School Governing Body (1997)